More is never less: Gifts to Sibilla

What is truth?

How do (or can) we know what we call as land is really LAND? Is sky really SKY? How can we ever know what is true and what is the truth?

I often think about Descartes, and his note on  Doubt and Skepticism

If you would be a real seeker after truth, it is necessary that at least once in your life you doubt, as far as possible, all things.

René Descartes: Principles of Philosophy

A Complex Mood

On a lovely Italian Autumn evening, I had a mood so complex that I thought of expressing the mood through art. I know there is an entry and I know there is an exit, a solution, but I don’t know exactly how to reach the exit! That is much like a labyrinth, isn’t it? Have you ever felt like that?! Or is it just me?


A Flower

How often do we fail to look at things from all angles and dimensions and come to our own conclusions? Is that our inability, or with the certain insight, we tend to think we know it all and move on to other things?!

What do I know?!


Me, a part of Me!

I wish you could see what those eyes were looking!

I wish I could stay still and watch the ever-moving world…


A view of Sardagna from Trento

I vividly remember, when I painted this piece I was so excited to gift it to Sibilla, I didn’t even give time for the oil paint to dry instead packed it carefully (and walked to their apartment the same evening) and gifted it…


Reunion

Reunion is a time to reflect and I wanted to paint what would happen when we guys meet after a few years/decades. How would that be…


On a full moon night…

How often do you see a shooting star?! Well, I have been lucky, or like to think to be lucky, because whenever I looked up the sky, of course in the night, wishing for a shooting star, I saw a shooting star. Once I see a shooting star I would wish for something and it has always happened. It has been a long time since I last wanted to see a shooting star but then these stars shoot every day and make many of the wishes true…

Can you see a shooting star in the painting? Do make a wish; I was told it works even if you don’t believe in it!!!

I painted the art after I saw a shooting star when I was returning home (Baselga di Pine) from Trento.



Here is Sibilla enjoying her cup of Cappuccino in Treviso, Italy… (Cira 2009?)

Did you know: Sibilla makes the best Tiramisu and rich chocolate cake… I have ever tasted…


Fun fact: Sibilla has won numerous numerous gold medals in fencing.

This is how the fencing sword (Foil) looks like…;
believe me, it is not easy or comfortable to hold. It was then I decided not to get into this sport and let others fight out… 😁

Here is Sibilla’s webpage: https://sites.google.com/site/sibilladiguida/


This I surely have to say…

When blockbuster movie Avatar (3D) got released in Italy, in Italian (with English subtitles), we (Sibilla, Davide and I) went to watch it. I enjoyed the visual and when were walking back home, I asked what she thought about the movie. Sibilla said the movie was okay but one scene she didn’t like. I curiously asked which scene?

Do you recollect this scene?!

Mountain banshees (Na’vi name: ikran) are large, dragon-like aerial predators that are native to Pandora. They are used by the Na’vi for hunting from the air and traveling larger distances. Ikran are also used in battle, where the mount attacks its opponents from the air.

You remember right?!

Well, let me come to the point. Sibilla said she didn’t like the scene where the hero ( avatar ) forcefully tames and connects with the Mountain Banshee to control and fly it. Sibilla said: “that is raping and I didn’t enjoy watching that.”

Until then I didn’t think that act was raping but technically it is and that made me think about how we overlook certain things in life…

Poor mortals (like me) can never fully understand how Sibyl (Sibilla) thinks or her actions! They are known as Sibyl for the right reason you see! 🙏

1 Comment

  1. Hahaha you do have a good memory 🙂 You know, I do hope your painting of reunion will become true. Maybe instead of a snowy landscape we will have a hot Indian panorama instead, I do count of visiting, one day. As for the tiramisú… I will prepare it for next time you come and visit 😀

    Like

Leave a comment