The Western Classical Music: Gifts to Davide


Beethoven Symphony #3, first movt (last few seconds)

Davide, my dear friend, my maestro, was the one who introduced me to Beethoven, Brahms, Bruckner, and so on. And though he tried much hard to teach me to enjoy the works of Bach, I was never (or got) mature enough or seasoned to listen/understand the magic of Bach!

Easily I can say Davide is one of the most talented people I have met! It is hard (I mean hard, very hard) to make him open up and talk, but if you do you will know how original his thoughts are…

Of many things – be it his mathematical skills, his cooking skills, his kind-heartedness, what I admire the most is his ability to concentrate, especially when he listens to classical music. He is very creative and sublime when music plays in the background. Very much like Vela!

Though I too wanted to try what Davide does so naturally, the problem is whenever I work if there is even a small disturbance or noise, I cannot concentrate. Manufacturing defect I suppose…


Beethoven Symphony #3, first movement

Are you wondering what is this all about!

Well, let me explain. I wanted to send Christmas greetings to Davide and Sibilla, who in 2010 were in Haifa, Israel. Davide was doing a post-doc at Technion and Sibilla was finishing off her PhD thesis. Anyways, as they were away from Home I wanted to send them something special that they will remember/cherish. I thought for a while and this interesting, brilliant or not, idea came.

Davide gifted me Beethoven’s triple concerto (OISTRAKH / ROSTROPOVICH / RICHTER / KARAJAN, BPO) CD as a Christmas gift in 2008. I could mark that as The beginning of my musical journey. Naturally, when I started listening to classical music, I often discussed the experience with Davide on what I understood and if I am understanding it right. Davide would share his thoughts and explain in layman’s words the intricacies of music. The way he visualizes music was much different from how I did. For example, when I close my blind eyes and listen to music, I see different patterns according to musical notes. When I once told my maetro I visualise the music in a discrete way, he curiously listened and pointed out sound/music is in continuous form, more like (technically is) a waveform.

Though I hinted Davide how I visualise music I didn’t show him what I had in my head and how I saw music. So, for 2010 Christmas gift, I thought let me take one of his favourite musical piece and give a more complete visualisation of the music. The music I chose for the occasion was Otto Klemperer’s famous 1955 recording of Beethoven Symphony #3 (first movement) with Philharmonic Orchestra. I personally think the first movement of the Eroica is a symphony by its own standards.


Have you listened to Beethy’s 3rd?! If you haven’t, then you definitely should – you know…

My Classical music Journey

Anyways, coming to music, how can I articulate something that is inarticulate? Of course any attempt may have its own limitations, but I made up my mind and decided to give it a try because I know Davide would love to see what I see…

I took a pile of papers (because I dont know how many sheets I would need, so I had to be ready!) and a pen, got ready with Bose QC15 to let the music play. My ears listened, my eyes saw that what I visualized and my hands penned it on the paper. What you have above ( in two sheets) is what I saw when I listened to 1st movement, on 17th Dec 2010. When the notes and pattern I observed was too complex  I had to stop, rewind a minute or two, and then play it again to try capture the pattern. To complete the piece of art I took 25-30 minutes, and FYI the actual movement timed almost 16 minutes. Not bad for an amateur isn’t it?!

Anyways, when it was done I thought it was very original in the sense that I have not seen anyone crazy enough to do something like this! 😁

Happily I folded the art, and along with the Christmas greeting note, and posted it to their Israelian address.

After a few days Davide wrote back saying thanks for the lovely art and he absolutely loved it! He even suggested, for different instruments used in the orchestra, I could different colours and that will make the visual of music more complete/comprehensive. How interesting is that?! Crazy bunch, aren’t we?!

Do you now understand why I call him a maestro?! He has the power to transform a musical illiterate to appreciate music. Yeah, miracles do happen! I am ever indebted to his kindness and more importantly for introducing me to the magical world of western classical music…


That’s my friends, Davide and, his better half, Sibilla.

To Davidethe most honest, highly talented, and amongst the noblest of beings I have ever met! 🙏


Did you know? My most favourite conductor is Carlos Kleiber! There are videos of him conducting his most favourite musical pieces and, I promise, it will be a treat!

Fun Fact: I have 1.5TB collection of western classical music by various composers, conductors and orchestras. Who wants it?!

Do you know? When I went to Vienna in 2009 to listen to Haydn and Beethoven at the famous Musikverein I bought a postcard and sent it to Davide. I even forgot about it and a few months ago when I did a video call with Davide I noticed he still has it and kept it safe in his office…

How wonderful is that?!


A glimpse of Davide:

I had written an email to him asking for a list of classical music pieces that I should not miss listening to… and here is the reply:

St Matthew Passion (J S Bach); Ninth Sym (Beeth); Symp 39-41 (Moz). Why? Well, it’s hard to say. They are unanimously regarded as the highest expressions of western thought.

Davide in an email to me
10Dec2009

I once wrote to Davide sharing my thoughts about Beethoven Symphonies and here is what he replied:

You know that sometimes I have fun making fun of you! But there’s some truth, in the end; I have to say that you have objectively become a fine connoisseur of classical music and most probably now you have a more complete vision of the interpretations of Beethoven’s symphonies!….

I don’t know whether music is actually the deepest and highest achievement of western culture, but for me it is….

I’ve had the honor of studying the first movement of Bach’s d minor concert for two violins, and it’s been the most exciting thing that has happened to me. I miss music and the violin, not playing anymore makes me feeling very sad – it’s something you don’t heal from…

Davids in an email to me
20Nov2010

This time I didn’t write to him but he himself sent me an email, which is very rare. Wondering why and what he wrote in it?!

I’m writing principally to give you a very bad news. That is, I’ve opened the bottle of Sassiccaia–and drunk it, for what matters.

Please, don’t ask me why I did this. You don’t know how guilty I felt (and still feel)–had I killed someone, I would have felt way better. I’m so disappointed about myself. I’m so sorry, we should have opened that bottle together, that’s the truth.

Anyway, the wine was obviously excellent, but maybe overrated. It did not convince me as much as your Brunello Riserva did–that was probably the best red wine I’ve ever tasted.

I thank you a lot (and much more) for this bottle, but I owe you one. I won’t forget that.

Davide in an email to me
23Jul2014

I wrote to Davide about the good old Trento days and how we enjoyed drinking the best red wine I (we) have ever tasted:

Brunello di Montalcino Frescobaldi – 2001 Reserva.

Tasted on? No, no! Experienced it on 12Jan2010...

And here comes his reply…

There are (at least) two good things about tasting and listening (to music): a) people get a minimal sense of what is “good taste” (something many have never been exposed to); b) people don’t speak, thus quitting all that cheap talk. It would definitely be a better world the one with more tasting and listening!

Davide in an email to me
6Dec2017

Did you know: I enjoyed good wine and I also collected good wine. Some of the highlights are Sassiccaia (2006), Barolo (2004), Veltiner (2009) and so on. When I left Italy I gave it to my dear friends Davide and Sibilla for their drinking!


Finally to close,

Here you can really hear angels bringing the Grail to earth! – Davide

Enjoy….


2 Comments

Leave a comment